Legal Question in Traffic Law in Nevada

traffic ticket

This morning I was dropping my son off at school. I got a ticket stating ''full stop in travel lane of road to allow passenger to exit vehicle.'' NRS 484.395. That NRS chapter states nothing about passenger exiting. So the ticket was to do with me being stopped. Well, yes I was stopped, but I didn't stop to let him out, I was stopped because the line of traffic to pull into the school was not moving. I didn't hold up traffic in anyway, it was a typical morning with all cars at a standstill. So I just told my son to get out and walk into the school. Is this something I can fight in court? I feel its a bogus ticket and I shouldn't have to spend my time to go to court. I really would like to be able to get reimbursed for that time by the officer who in my opinion twisted the law around unfairly.

Asked on 11/14/08, 2:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Smith James E. Smith Ltd.

Re: traffic ticket

You can probably beat the ticket with a traffic attorney, but you can forget about compensation as the officer will have immunity for discretinary enforcement of the law even if he is incorrect.

Read more
Answered on 11/14/08, 2:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Nevada