Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Hampshire

I have recently run into a dilemma. Quick back story: last year i was charged with possession of a controlled substance in a motor vehicle (my friends pipe which has marijuana residue). It was to originally be a class B misdemeanor but was dropped to a violation. More recently I purchased a sporting rifle and passed the federal background check no problem. Last weekend I attempted tp purhase a handgun and I initially passed the check but later they had called back and said the decision was reversed. On top of that i was told that i would have to relinquish my rifle as well. Upon looking up the state gun laws this order seemed like utter rubbish and I did not bring it in. Just today i recieved a call from a "special agent" saying that I would have to reliquish the rifle or he would track me down and it would be destroyed. He stated that due to my drug violation I am not legally allowed to purchase or own a firearm for 12 months from the sentencing date. I have done further research and do not see any state law that backs this up; all I have seen is that firearms are restricted from felons and people who have domestic violence misdemeanors (neither of which i have). I was hoping someone on here could clarify if what he is saying is true and, if so, where is this law written?

Thank you for your time

Asked on 5/19/14, 11:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Hynes N.H. DWI GUY

That conviction is not a disqualifying offense. There also is no magic 12 month rule. Speak with a lawyer who handles gun charges.

Read more
Answered on 5/19/14, 11:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New Hampshire