Legal Question in Intellectual Property in New Hampshire

I am in the process of filing a non-provisional patent application under my personal name. I would like to manufacture, produce, and sell the product under my business LLC.

I am slightly confused on the process and wondered if I must assign the patent to my business and change the applicant to the business or if there are alternative routes? Might I be able to license a pending patent to myself to avoid changing the applicant and ownership? Is there an easy way to write a contract between me as an individual and my business such that I can produce and sell my invention?

Thank you!

Asked on 6/03/21, 2:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence Graves Coolidge & Graves PLLC

I should say that you are on the right track: you can license the IP to your LLC, so it can exploit the rights. This can be a very bare-bones document if you are the sole owner of the LLC. Best wishes,


Read more
Answered on 6/03/21, 2:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in New Hampshire