Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New Hampshire

To avoid foreclosure I am paying on a home equity loan my deceased ex husband aquired. The bank says I am not responsible to pay it but if I don't they will foreclose. Is this correct

Asked on 11/06/13, 4:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

The scenario you describe sounds correct. The home equity loan is secured by a mortgage on the real estate. That mortgage can be foreclosed but only to the extent that your ex-husband had an ownership interest at the time he signed the mortgage.

Read more
Answered on 11/06/13, 1:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New Hampshire