Legal Question in Consumer Law in New Jersey

I have had my current propane gas provider (Amerigas) for 15 years. The builder of my home ordered from them and had them install the buried 1000 gal propane tank. A full year before I found and bought the house. As I understand it propane gas is not governed by the Public Utilities Commission or any other entity. I have called the PUC, and other various govt offices. Now my quandry, they own the tank, they recently quoted me $5.12/gal of fuel when all the other providers in my area were selling propane for $2.85/gal. Since Amerigas owns the tank I am told it is "illegal" for other vendors to fill the tank. Amerigas will not sell me the tank and wants to charge me $600 to remove it and they are not responsible for filling the hole when they are done. I do not have a signed contract of any kind nor do I believe they do either. What are my options? How do I get them to sell me the tank to open up my options? Will a judge sign something allowing other providers to fill the tank? I am being held hostage and gouged by Amerigas. I am sure there are others in my area who feel the same. Please advise.

Asked on 6/28/11, 11:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Corbett Corbett Law Firm LLC

Why not have another vendor put in their own tank in addition to the Amerigas tank? That way you will always have a competitive bidder.

See also:

Read more
Answered on 6/29/11, 9:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in New Jersey