Legal Question in Family Law in New Jersey

I have been married to my husband for 34 years. I work full time and he has worked about a year in the last 25 years due to anxiety issues (although he's seen more than a few doctors about this with no sure diagnosis, just a lot of medication). He is abusive towards me and treats me like trash, constantly screaming and belittling me. I have slept in my car many times just because I fear him and can't take his abuse any longer. We have one son, 25, who lives with us and is just as bad as his father.

My husband and son have wiped out any money we had, Our 2-family house, which my sister gave to us after my mother's death, is in both our names, although it's mortgaged to within 80% of its value. We have over $10,000 in credit card debt. WE get $1100 per month in rental income.

My husband gets $1100 monthly social security, and he will be 65 and eligible for Medicare in a few weeks. We have no other assets, other than two cars not yet paid off.

I want to divorce him and would be willing to just give him the entire house if I don't have to support him. I make $40,000 per year at my job.

What are my options in this situation? I can't take this anymore. (Sorry for being so wordy, but I tried to accurately convey the situation.)

Asked on 2/09/19, 3:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

Call me at 1-855-9-JEFLAW to discuss. I need more information to properly answer your questions.

Read more
Answered on 2/11/19, 10:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New Jersey