Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New Jersey

I'm a landlord in New Jersey that lives in the 2 family home with a common entrance. The tenants have a nasty habit of not only leaving the main entrance door unlocked but I have found it wide open numerous times. I've notice the door may be open after they leave for work (meaning it would be open all day if I'm not home to close it). Is it legal to install an automatic self-closing door?

Asked on 5/01/13, 4:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Walter LeVine Walter D. LeVine, Esq.

You are the Landlord, so you can do anything reasonable and legal. Plus, you have a possible exposure if there were a robbery or worse, so anything you do to prevent that should be allowed.

Read more
Answered on 5/01/13, 2:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New Jersey