Legal Question in Traffic Law in New Mexico

If your car is registered in a state that doesn't require proof of insurance when pulled over by law enforcement, and you are pulled over in a state that does require proof of insurance, can the officer still cite you for not having proof? My car is registered in Virginia (insurance is in virginia) and was in New Mexico when pulled over. I had proof of insurance on my phone, but was cited for not having a proof because I didn't have a hard copy. I now have a mandated court date for "no insurance."

Asked on 8/22/14, 5:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Aspinwall Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC

Present your insurance card (take a copy with you) to the Court and the citation will be dismissed. This is not a guarantee, but that is the usual procedure in NM.

Read more
Answered on 12/07/14, 1:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in New Mexico