Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

We had booked a reception hall on January 16th 2016 for a wedding that would have taken place January 2017, we decided Febuary 13th that we wanted to book a different venu and canceled at our current venu. We had placed a $1,000 deposit to hold the date and spoke too the owners and they said they would be willing to give us half that back, so we made a time to meet with them and to sign the contract saying we were canceling with them and would keep them in mind for further events. We didn't receive the $500 so I called and was told that he would be contacting his lawyer because we booked a different venu. So he is now suing us for $6,800 half of the contract price. Is that valid since he didn't make an attempt to book his venu a year in advance? And that we canceled within 30days of signing the contract?

Asked on 3/24/16, 7:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Sounds weird to me. Need to read your agreement.

Read more
Answered on 3/25/16, 9:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York