Legal Question in Criminal Law in New York

I went to the police station to get free oil from a government assistance program. They asked for identification because they lend you cans and you have to leave it with them. I waited 20 minutes before they came out and said i had a suspended license. They than searched me and found drugs and paraphernalia. Can they even run my license when I handed them my passport and they did not physically even see me driving?

Asked on 2/25/15, 4:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arkady Bukh Bukh Law Firm, P.C.

When the police put any form of identification through their database all information regarding the person will show up from any government source such as the DMV. This would be how they would know.

Read more
Answered on 3/11/15, 12:30 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York