Legal Question in Elder Law in New York

My dad died in 2016 while in a nursing home and the bill was about $35,000. The nursing home never made a claim against dad's estate, but instead filed a lawsuit against my mother, even though she never signed any paper at all accepting legal responsibility. Meanwhile my sister inherited most of dad's money. Shouldn't the nursing home be required to file their claim in the Surrogate's court and get the money from my sister? The law firm says mom is "automatically" responsible for his debts, but everywhere I search says this is not true. I think they are using the court system to strong arm my mother into paying dad's bill.

Asked on 3/02/21, 8:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade

You dad's estate is responsible. The next question is who is the administrator of your dad's estate? The administrator is responsible for the distribution of your dad's asset's -if any.

Read more
Answered on 3/02/21, 8:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in New York