Legal Question in Elder Law in New York

my mother "gifted" me money that went towards providing financial needs for my 2 nieces that came to live with me for less than a year due to their mother being incapable of providing for them due to her battling drug addiction. I was given money in the amount of $20,000 . Will that be considered a transfer of funds and then my mother would be penalized? How does the penalty work. I believe Medicaid will not pay for months or so depending on amount gifted? It was in the year 2015 and I do not have any receipts proving that the money was spent towards their needs such as food clothing etc. The money was deposited in my checking and I paid bills etc. Do not know if that would suffice though

Asked on 6/07/17, 11:18 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

This question is much too complex to be answered on this website.

Read more
Answered on 6/07/17, 12:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in New York