Legal Question in Family Law in New York

I received a helpful answer already, but it wasn't to the question i was asking. I think I asked incorrectly. My fiance's ex has gotten re-married. My fiance is only allowed to claim 1 of their 2 children on his taxes if the ex makes an X amount of dollars for the year, otherwise the ex gets to claim both children. Since his ex has gotten re-married, does that combine the ex and new spouse's income made for the year, making the ex go over the X amount, allowing my fiance to claim 1 child on his taxes.

Asked on 1/28/16, 10:56 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Zaslavsky The Law Office of David Zaslavsky, PLLC

No it does not. Only the ex's income is used in the computation.

Read more
Answered on 1/29/16, 8:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York