Legal Question in Immigration Law in New York

How many years does an I-130 petition for married daughter take? The mother/petitioner is a US citizen. And daughter is from Dominican Republic.

How about if the daughter gets divorced before the petition is made/filed in order to make it faster? Is it worth it? Thanks!

Asked on 9/20/12, 11:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ernest DuBose DuBose Law

It really depends on how old the daughter is. I would wait until the divorce, but if the daughter is over 16 than it could take 18 months.

Read more
Answered on 12/09/12, 11:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in New York