Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

Landlord and Tenant Issue

I have been residing in an apartment (private house) for over ten years. The person who is actually on the lease, left the apartment, but allowed me to stay there. I have been paying the rent under this person's name. The owner found out and now wants me to move out of the apartment. Can she just put me out? Although I am not on the lease, can I legally stay there?

Asked on 4/15/09, 11:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC

Re: Landlord and Tenant Issue

The owner would have to commence an eviction proceeding. She cannot just "put you out."


Read more
Answered on 4/15/09, 12:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York