Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

I have owed my landlord large sum of rent since May 2020. They started eviction in court. Because the Covid, court is now closed. I do not have a case number yet. My lease is up Nov 20th. I am not sure what I should do at this point. They are not reducing any rent like buildings all do in NYC. So it's not my best interest to renew a lease. But what is the consequence if I continue to stay without a lease? What is the best for me now? I signed 2 year lease in Nov 2018 Amenities are shut down during Covid. Amenities are not on the lease tho. It was extra club fee. But it's the main reason why I moved into this luxury building. May I ask what is the consequence if I continue to stay after lease expired say for another 6 months? Once I move out, they can not sue me in housing court? Thank you

Asked on 11/18/20, 8:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

You will be a holdover and liable for rent damages.

Read more
Answered on 11/19/20, 5:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York