Legal Question in Sexual Harassment in New York

My direct supervisor initiated a sexual relationship with me soon after the VP of sales threatened my position with the company in a meeting he was informed of. I didn't want to lose my job (I'm a single mom) so I consented.. this developed into a relationship, that he was very much afraid of coworkers finding out about. I was fired by my direct supervisor for "attendance issues" ( being late, and too much personal time) 5 months later. But actually, some of the reasons for me being late was because he would want to meet on my lunch hour and then would drive me back late. Too much personal time was because I had to be in court for a number of custody hearings, and my son was ill quite a bit...I've been out of work a year, can I still file for sexual harrassment?

Asked on 5/24/11, 8:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Ziegler Ziegler, Ziegler & Associates LLP

We would need a bit more information in order to respond. Please call Chris Brennan of our office at 212-319-7600 and he will be able to evaluate any claims you might have.

Read more
Answered on 5/24/11, 8:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Sexual Harassment Law questions and answers in New York