Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

my wife asked me to leave our home after being at same address since 1978. The house is paid for by her and I. Our names are on the tax bill,all monthly payments made by us. The mortgage was taken out by her parents in 1978 because we had no money for down payment at that time. Two years before her mother died I told her to have her name added to the mothers will,which she did.At the time of mothers death my wife was left the home. Question is can I return to and live in this home? There was never any restraints filed against me.I am Vietnam war era veteran and soon to become homeless currently living at a VA facility on Long Island.

Asked on 11/24/16, 5:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

No. u are not an owner.

Read more
Answered on 11/24/16, 8:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York