Legal Question in Criminal Law in Ohio

Hi, I am 18 and planning on moving out. My mom and I have always had a rocky relationship and she will not consent to me leaving. She claims that’s “everything in this house I own and have receipts for, so do not take anything” when I asked her if I could at least take my clothes she responded with the same exact sentence. A lot of the items I have I bought since I have been working since I was 16 as well as a lot of items being gifted to me by family members and my boyfriend. I was wondering if she can legally come after me for these items (gifts and the ones that I bought). I was extra curious because my bank account has her name on it, in the state of Ohio you have to have a parent signature in order to have a checking account as a minor, or at least Chase requires that. Would she be able to claim the items as hers since her name is on the bank account? Thanks!

Asked on 3/19/20, 9:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Jacobs Jacobs & Lowder

Sounds like those were gifts. You are 18 and an adult now with all the same rights as any other adult. You should just close the one account now and open up a new one. Call me if this continues !

Read more
Answered on 3/19/20, 10:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Ohio