Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Ohio

Ohio Trade Secrets

My previous employer claims I have violated the Ohio Trade Secrets Acts by obtaining a copy of their financial info/budget. They accuse me of ''stealing'' it. I contend that they did not in any way convey this info was ''secret'' and vehemently deny the accusation of ''stealing'' it. I asked the company accountant for it and she willing complied to give it to me. At no time did she convey this info was confidential and that I should not share it with anyone. The material isn't marked confidential, there is no company policy that I know of that addresses this issue. Further I never signed any non-compete with the company.The material was being used to obtain further professional licensure in which the owner of the company signed off and gave approval on. Because another employee had done the same, I felt safe to assume the owner knew this financial information was needed for part of this licensure process. In the meantime, however, I lost my job (I maintain wrongfully, that is another issue). A few months after my dismissal, another employee (union) contacted me requesting this information for their upcoming negotiations. I let them have the information I had. Does the company have a case against me?

Asked on 5/08/05, 5:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Irving M. Weiner Weiner & Burt, P.C.

Re: Ohio Trade Secrets

Your situation is somewhat complicated. Call me Toll Free at 800-872-8368 to discuss.

Read more
Answered on 5/08/05, 5:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Ohio