Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Rhode Island

Collection Agency Added $500 to My Debt for Their ''Service''

In the matter of a long defaulted student loan A collection agency recently wrote to say that the college had given them my debt, and the amount they want is one third more ($500) than the amount owed the college.

1. Do I owe them their fee as well as my debt?

2. Should I pay them directly, or the college?

Asked on 6/18/03, 6:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Re: Collection Agency Added $500 to My Debt for Their ''Service''

Contact the school to see if they will accept the payment and give you a general release for the amount originally owed.

Read more
Answered on 6/18/03, 7:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Rhode Island