Legal Question in Employment Law in South Carolina

I am 33 yo female. Took over mgmt position from older male. Was offered 35k less than him, but held more operational responsibility (when he was there, we shared mgmt responsibility- when he left I had all departments). When questioned, was told that his pay was in placed anemone company was acquired, and that he was grandfathered in, but overpaid for an operation our size (compared to other holdings of parent company). I have now resigned. New candidate also male. New candidate budgeted for 70-95k more than me, was cc'd on an email that stated that this was the going rate for operation our size. First male had slightly more experience than me, held a masters (I hold bachelors). New candidate has much more experience and higher Ed as well. I

Asked on 6/09/12, 12:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Jackson Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.

It looks like you will have a tough time claiming gender discrimination on the facts you stated. (1) Last man had Masters and more experience. (2) Next man has much more experience and higher education level.

Read more
Answered on 7/13/12, 8:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in South Carolina