Legal Question in Traffic Law in South Carolina

i was walking down the road and york co. deputy stoped me.I gave him my wallet and pocket knife and told him he could not search me with out getting a warrent. he searched me any way and found a joint. He arrested me and never read my rights. could I fight charge?

Asked on 9/03/11, 11:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Jackson Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.

No. The search was legal. If you were arrested then the cop will say that he read you your rights and he will be believed and you will not.

Read more
Answered on 9/04/11, 6:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in South Carolina