Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Tennessee

Homeowner A hires a handyman to clean the gutters. The Handyman cuts a tree limb knocking down Homeowner B 's power line causing a surge damaging multiple appliances. Homeowner A never told the Handyman to cut the tree limb but did offer to reimburse Homeowner B but failed to do so.

The Handyman is fly by night and disappears. Can Homeowner A be sued for damages?

Asked on 10/05/11, 9:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James R. Becker, Jr. Becker Law Firm

Yes. From what you have written it appears as if the Handyman was Homeowner A's agent. This creates a situation in which Homeowner A may be liable for the damage caused by the agent.

Read more
Answered on 10/06/11, 7:22 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Tennessee