Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Texas

can a teacher demand a cell phone password from a student who is caught texting and then search their text messages? Are Text Messages protected under the 4th amendment right?

Asked on 3/19/12, 5:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

I would look the teacher in the eye and say, "No." As politely as possible. And continue to say "No."

Maybe I'd ask her if she has a search warrant.

Too many teachers act like Nazis, and somebody should put a stop to it.

Read more
Answered on 3/20/12, 6:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Texas