Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

local franchise

I was an Assistant Manager at a local restaurant for 2 years and paid $7.50 per hour--but if we were a waitress short i would have to clock in as a waitress and my payrate was $3.60. As a grill operator my pay was $7.50 per hour. When i worked as a waitress i had the sole responsibility of running the register and my customers would suffer because i would get tied up at the register so therefore my tips would suffer. if for any reason the register was short i was required to pay that shortage when the drawer was counted even though there is a cash register shortage form to fill out that states that ''It is illegal to ask or require a waitress to pay for any cash shortage'' and it states that no money will be deducted from any associates pay for shortages unless for the reason of theft. This is common practice. #2) I had an emergency shortly after i arrived at work; i told my manager and she said if i had to go -go. i was removed from the schedule. They say i walked but i was fired. my pay was set at $3.60 and $7.50 but on my final check it was reduced to 2.25 and 5.30 what can i do, anything

Asked on 5/15/07, 11:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.

Re: local franchise

contact texasworkforce commission

Read more
Answered on 5/15/07, 11:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas