Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Non-competition Agreement with Employer

I was fired from my employer for being late for work for 2 days,(despite having a Dr's excuse, as I was very sick. A few days after I was fired I received an email,& call from my ex-employer & a letter from his attorney stating that they believe I was supplying a competitor with company information. I replied to the email & letter that that accusation was absurd, as I pride myself on very high ethical behavior. I did not respond to his attorney's letter. I have since recv'd another letter from the attorney stating the following verbatim, ''Since you have not responded to my Dec. 20th letter, you are clearly admitting that you are continuing to violate the terms of your non-competition agreement, suit will be filed against you. Please acknowledge that you are complying with the non-competition agreement on the line below for your signature and return this letter to me in the self-addressed, stamped envelope within 10 days of the date of this letter. Again, your failure to respond will constitute an admission by silence & will result in suir being filed against you.''

Am I being harrassed? Can he stop me from finding similar employment? The funny thing is, I have NOT applied with any competitor. His lawyer is Orth, Hrabel & Orth.

Asked on 1/19/07, 11:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.

Re: Non-competition Agreement with Employer

Unless you had a contract permitting such overbearing letters..and similar are free. As big business and insurers like to say, anyone can sue, particularly the rich..

Read more
Answered on 1/19/07, 11:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas