Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Relocation Related Question

In May 2005, the company I work for (based in Chicago) closed the department I work for in Los Angeles, and moved the work to either Chicago or Houston.

They offered to anyone in the department the opportunity to relocate to one of these two cities. We chose to relocate to Houston.

In April 2006, they also decided to close part of the New York operation and also relocated the work to either Chicago or Houston. Again, an offer was extended to the NY employees to relocate to Chicago or Houston.

In all, aproximately 24 employees (12 from L.A. and 12 from NY) reolcated to Houston.

This past week, the company announced they were closing the Houston office were all of us work and transferring the work to Chicago.

What responsibilities does the employer have towards those of us that relocated and will soon be out of a job? We relocated here under the impression we would have ongoing jobs.

Asked on 1/21/07, 8:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roger Evans Mathis & Donheiser

Re: Relocation Related Question

The company has no legal obligation to provide you with an onging job.

Read more
Answered on 1/24/07, 8:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas