Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

My uncle recently pasted away he didn't have a will, he is survived by my grandmother. He is currently in a lawsuit with some business dealing from his past, he had a house with about 23 acres and a car in his name. Will the estate get pasted into my grandmothers name or his the estate going to be liable? This is my grandmothers homestead residence currently. Thanks in-advance

Asked on 4/04/16, 11:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arthur Geffen Arthur H. Geffen, P.C.

If the property was your uncles' and your grandmother was living there and dependent upon your uncle for support, etc., the property remains homestead and is exempt from being taken to satisfy debts.

Read more
Answered on 4/04/16, 11:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas