Legal Question in Workers Comp in Texas

duty belt causing chronic back pain

hello. i have a question and serious concern. I have been a police officer for 8 years. i am thirty years old. I have suffered from lower back pain off and on for years. I have been off work for a month or so and am very concern about my back. i had a mri that showed a herniated disk and facet joint arthritis. an emg also showed some nerve damage. my symptoms are lower back pain, pain in my buttocks, leg and foot. my leg and foot go numb and stiff for hours when i wake in the morning. i have been researching my pain and have learned that police officers suffer from these symptoms. several websites say that my twenty pound duty belt and sitting in the patrol car for long periods of time can cause these problems. the reason i am contacting you is that im concerned about my future health and job security. My FMLA is up soon and work says they probably won't be able to keep me on if i don't return in a few weeks to full duty. i am having steriod injections this week just so i can return to work and not lose my job. Light duty is an option but i won't be able to do that for long. I have short term and long term disability but im not sure what to do. could work be responsible for my condition. please help. jason

Asked on 4/22/04, 8:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Re: duty belt causing chronic back pain

This is something you may want to look into since there may be a causal link in your pain and numbness and work.

Speak with a local attorney when yo uhave a spare moment.

Read more
Answered on 4/22/04, 9:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in Texas