Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Utah

I am in the advertising industry. One of my clients is a restaurant and they are one of the top restaurants in the Salt Lake area. They had a 4-star review from a local newspaper with a quote from that food critic. Legally, do I have to approach them to be able to use that quote on a billboard? Or, can I quote them without any legal repercussions?

Asked on 11/09/09, 2:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.

If you give credit to the newspaper and critic, the quote can be used. It is always wise to ask the critic and newspaper for permission.

Read more
Answered on 11/15/09, 9:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Utah