Legal Question in Technology Law in Virginia

Does my former employer have the right to demand my personal email password? Some of my former clients did use that account to email me their business information. I do not have a problem forwarding those business related emails to my former employer, but he demands my password instead, which would give him access to personal emails as well. I have since opened another email account after I left that job and was just notified that there was an attempt to change the password on the new account the day after my former employer obtained the new email address. What are my rights in this situation?

Asked on 12/05/13, 11:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Sure, he has the right to demand but that doesn't mean that you must accede to this demand.

Read more
Answered on 12/08/13, 8:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in Virginia