Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

I have a credit card that the creditor charged off their account in the past and i just received a phone call asking me to reach a settlement with this debt and if not they will try to garnish my paychecks i was told since they charged it off their account they cannot do this is this true?

Asked on 1/14/10, 5:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Saiki Law Office of David M. Saiki

A charge off means that the creditor deems the debt uncollectible, meaning, you will never voluntarily pay it back. It does not prevent them from filing a collection action.

Read more
Answered on 1/19/10, 5:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia