Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

I was put on probation in the stare of virginia for a misdemeanor marijuana charge of a gram. My state recently passed a bill that’ll go into effect on july 1st decriminalizing weed. Will i be able to get out of my probation sentence?

Asked on 3/21/20, 8:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

No, not likely since such new law is unlikely to operate retroactively with respect to offenses such as described.

Read more
Answered on 3/21/20, 9:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia