Legal Question in Immigration Law in Washington

My L1 Visa expired in Feb 2014 and my i94 is valid till September 2015 and I am currently working on the basis of my L1-i94. My spouse is on L2 (which I believe also got expired with my L1)and she is working on L2-EAD. Her i94 is valid till 2016.

I applied for H1B this year (2014-2015) and it has been picked up in Lottery.

1 - If my H1 gets approved by this October, would my status automatically switch from L1 to H1? (Making my Spouse's visa status switch from L2 to H4?) Is it automatic?

2 - Is there a possibility that, if my H1 gets approved this October-2014, I can remain on my current i94 (from L1) till it gets expired (or less) and then move/switch to approved H1 on a later date? If yes, how is the extension to be requested?

3 - What are the options for my spouse to work ? L2 to F1? can she apply for COS from L2 to B till College Admissions in January-2015? Once admitted in college she can move to F1 in Jan-2015 and start working on F1 visa.

Appreciate your help.

Asked on 6/24/14, 11:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq. Manchanda Law Office PLLC

Please call me at (212) 968-8600 or toll-free at (800) 750-1828. Regards, RDM

Read more
Answered on 6/24/14, 11:13 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Washington