Legal Question in Constitutional Law in India

Somewhere during the period 1980-1990, Bangladeshi migrants came to northeastern region of

manipur and assam due to a certain war. And the government of manipur

and assam provided them land to live according to the certain Acts of

Indian Constitution.

Some acquired the land from the government while some could not.

Since then, they had been living there till today for more than twenty

years. Are they illegal or legal? Can they be called 'Indian

Citizen' ?

Asked on 10/22/13, 1:10 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

KarVai +91 9811284735 KarVai Legal Solutions(www.karvai.in)
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Allotting land does not guarantee Indianan citizenship and Bangladeshis need to acquire an Indian citizenship.

Read more
10/24/13, 12:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in India

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now