|  Intellectual Property

question bubble
7/25/00, 12:00 am

Legal Question


Can you copyright a compilation of works which are not your own?

Over time I have conmplied a book of poems that I have collected from various sources (magazines, books, my own, my friends, etc ...). I would like to publish this, but would like to be clear as to whether I can legally publish work which is not my own without the consent of the original writer. These poems were not compiled with the intention of publishing them, I therefore do not have any record as to who wrote which poems, and from which sources they came. With this in mind, would I be able to copywrite the book which I would like to publish?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search