Alabama  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
3/03/05, 11:03 am

Legal Question


Transfer deed under bankruptcy

My exhusband filed chapter seven on a mortgage that I am listed on. I have already done a quit claim deed to him. I am only on the mortgage not on the deed. He has moved away from the home and has had his creditor's meeting about two weeks ago. He is willing to deed that property to me so that I can catch up past due payments and the mortgage holder is open to this idea. However, no-one can tell me if this can legally be done. I've been told sure no problem - I've been told the property belongs to the B.R. courts and we need their permission and I've been told it can't be done at all? HELP! If I can't get the land deeded back to me - I'm not paying the mortgage and will obviously have to file bankruptcy myself.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search