Alabama  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
9/01/05, 7:59 pm

Legal Question


sued for more than insurance coverage?

My grandad lives in Al. He pulled out in front of a motorcycle which then crashed into him. My grandad was said to be at fault, right of way issue I know. No one's addressed if motorcycle was speeding or road conditions that I know of (possible contributory negligence). **Anyway, the young man is trying to sue my grandad for $500k, my grandad's coverage is $100k, which the insurance comany has offered to pay to settle, but the kid says no. Is that suit possible? If so, what's the point of insurance? If the $500k was awarded, would my grandad be forced to pay (garnished wages, lien on home, etc), or is one of those awarded, but never collected situations. If award & forced payment of $500k is a possibility, would it be wise for my grandad to put his assets in a trust(s) since it hasn't gone to court yet, or would that not be a good idea? If that's a bad idea, what's a good idea? Any help is appreciated!!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search