Alabama  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/31/02, 6:14 pm

Legal Question


Employment contract terms

I am in a position to accept my first executive level job where I will be able to have an employment contract. However, my potential employer said they would only agree to their standard employment contract that other executives at my level are signing. It was drawn up by their attorney. Besides having unique benefits that ''normal'' employees don't have, the primary reason for the contract is so that I can no longer be terminated ''at will''. In summary, the language states that if I am fired ''without cause'' I will be paid a lump sum equal to 6 months of salary. I have a couple of questions about this language. What is meant by ''without cause''? Is that a legally defined phrase or can it mean anything they want it to mean? Nowhere in the contract does it define the phrase ''without cause''. Since it is not defined, couldn't my employer come up with any reason (whether true or not) and put the legal burden ($$$) on me to prove that it wasn't a good ''cause''? In your opinion, is a contract with this wording worth signing or does it offer virtually no PRACTICAL protections against being terminated ''at will'' anyway? Should I insist on a contract with a specific list of causes to which I can be terminated?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search