Alabama | Workers Comp
Legal Question
workman's comp settlement
I injured my back on the job,workman's comp has paid for my medical and for my income, i will be going back to work but they want to settle with me first. What is the normal amount for settlement?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randal Ford |
Re: workman's comp settlement Depends - on your injury AND other considerations. Your doctor will give you a "medical impairment" which ONLY affects your physical systems in your body (the percentage your body is impaired). If you have a SERIOUS injury you need to be evaluated by a VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION expert. This person determines your "impairment" to perform the same or other work functions by taking into account your medical impairment, work experience, age, education, etc.
The most an attorney can charge you is 15% plus expenses (there is a "cap" on attorney fees). You might want to CALL someone instead of posting your "generic" questions. Like I said before, it all depends on YOUR injury, etc. You won't be able to get a good answer with the information you provided.
|
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Lewis, Feldman, & Lehane, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 252
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Randal S. Ford, Attorney at Law
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Stirling & Hood, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 66
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-27
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Dennis Harmon
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-28
Search Questions and Answers


