Arizona | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I have been here legally for more than seven years on F-1. We married in March this year. I graduated last year, my OPT EAD expired June this year. It took long to put the paperwork together but I eventually submitted everything early Sept. Interview is pending later this month. My wife is filling for divorce now (which I do not intent to contest)...do we are definitely going to have to cancel the interview. What are my options of staying? I haven't withdrawn my I-485 yet, but planning to do so ASAP. Will removal proceedings commence immediately I withdraw my application? Do I have the option to apply to reinstate my f-1 status to stay because I have been intenting to further my education all along. What other precautions do I need to take? What time frames are we looking at (for example would it make a difference if I had college admission before withdrawing the application)? What other options may be there apart from f-1 reinstatement? What should I do if removal proceedings commences, if it indeed happens?


