Arizona  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
4/16/04, 1:47 am

Legal Question


8 Year old Default on No Ins & Driving on Suspended

The case is almost 8 years old, occuring summer of 96, a new car and a traffic stop.

The officer stopped me and ticketed me for no insurance with a prior judgement, within 3 years, and driving on a suspended license, because of another unpaid ticket.

The other items have been cleared up and this is the only item holding up my license in AZ.

The strange part of this is that the VIN Number was written minus one letter about 3/4 of the way down the VIN.

The court and DMV said, when asked that the vehicle is an 80's Olds, and the car was listed on ticket as 96 Red Nissan, which is correct(Verified when they faxed a copy of the ticket).

The VIN listed on the original ticket, is no good and actually does not pull up, since the VIN is 16 and not the Required 17 Didgets. They also did not list the license plate, but used the VIN instead.

Also I have lived on the East coast for about 7 years or so and have not needed a car so this has just sat there back in AZ.

Is that enough grounds to fight the ticket? and if fighting what specific grounds would I use, such as they cannot verify the vehicle?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search