Arizona  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/09/05, 7:35 pm

Legal Question


Estate Settlement Difficulties

I am personal representative for my Aunt's estate. All financial assets were left with her 2 children as beneficiaries and do not go thru estate. There is no money for me to collect for taxes, expenses, bills, etc. My granddaughter is supposed to receive $3000. How do I achieve this?

Her daughter, who is mentally ill, has hired an attorney and is interfering with the division of personal property and furniture and the distribution of such as per the will. She lives in my Aunt's home, given to her via a beneficiary deed, drives my Aunt's car, which was also left to her (I have the title) and has all of my Aunt's furniture, personal property, financial records, etc. in her possession. She refuses to turn over these things, including special bequests of personal items, and refuses to let me in with an appraiser to value the household goods. She will let an appraiser in alone, but this would not be prudent in view of her animosity toward her brother and me. There is no money in the estate for me to hire an attorney, pay an appraiser or give my granddaughter the $3000. Each of my Aunt's children received approximately $150K. I would also like to bill for my work under the circumstances. What and how do I file for a court order?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search