Arkansas | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Unknowingly bought a vehicle with a previous title lien
I purchased a vehicle from a larger car dealership just over a year ago now in Little Rock (april/may-05). It wasn't until a couple of months later that I learned the vehicle still had a lien against it in oklahoma and I couldn't get it registered here. The dealership obtained some forms so that I may get it registered and tagged, two months after the purchase. The dealership has never posessed the title. It is now a year later that i get a letter from the state of arkansas saying that my title is now in suspense..and its time to renew my registration. I called the dealership today and spoke with the title clerk about the situation. I was told that the title is still in limbo because the Cherokee Tribe of oklahoma has posession of it, and still hasn't been released to the department of finance and registration.
Is there anything i can do about this? Preferably I would like for the dealership to buy the vehicle back from me for what i owe and wash my hands of the whole ordeal. Let them take it back and resell it when they can procure the title themselves. As they should have done before it was sold to me.


