Re: ADA Laws once you disclose (answer part 2)
(continuing from last message...)
There are pro's and con's as to whether to hire an attorney. If you file with the EEOC, there is, first, the possibility of mediation. It is not necessary to be represented by an attorney in this process; if you are offered what you believe to be sufficient, you keep all of it (if it's monetary), and don't need to share it with an attorney who might have done nothing more than show up to the meeting. On the other hand, an experienced attorney may be able to push for, and achieve, a higher recovery amount, but it would have to be significant to offset the fact that you'll be sharing a large piece of the pie with the attorney.
If a case does not go to mediation, or if it fails mediation, the next step in the EEOC process is investigation. This can be time-consuming, but the EEOC, being a federal agency, is able to obtain documents and other evidence which can be expensive, and difficult, or even impossible to obtain by a lawyer and the discovery process. Even if, after investigation, the EEOC is unable to find discrimination, you will still receive a right to sue, and you will be able to request a copy of your investigative file and the evidence it contains, without having to go through the rigamarole of the discovery process.
If the EEOC finds discrimination and/or retaliation, your investigator will act as your advocate, essentially the same role as an attorney, to obtain "substantial relief" for you. If this is successful, you receive all proceeds, again, not having to share it with an attorney.
If the EEOC finds discrimination/retaliation, but is unsuccessful in bringing about a fair settlement, your file will be forwarded to the EEOC legal department, who will make the decision whether to sue on your behalf. Any recovery in litigation is 100% yours.
If the EEOC legal department decides not to sue, you get the right to sue, and access to your investigative file. There is nothing to keep you from then (or at any earlier time in the EEOC process) go attorney-shopping.
Best of luck!