Legal Question in Disability Law in California

Discrimination by a Calif. Community College

Hired in '97 under one job description. In 2000 job description was amended to include areas not on original. These amendments were used in 2003 to say that I could not do the essential functions of the job I had done for eight years because I now had arthritis in both hips. Essentials were sedentary in nature. with others in the department doing less essential, more physical functions. I was sent for a fitness- for- duty physical Doctor recomended sedentary job. Coerced to sign agreement to split regular job with a telephone answering job which reduced my pay by $100.00 a month. No offer was ever made to help me do the essential functions of the job I was hired to do, nor did I ever request accommondation. Eventually placed on 39 month rehire list under Calif Educ Code. No one has ever been hired to replace me under the amended job description from 2000 til now. My first line supervisor had me doing the essential functions he required to as he oversaw the department. This arttack came from the budget manager, and now retired supervisor who originally hired me. Neithe supervisor ever accused me of not doing the essential functions of the job. The dean of Human Resources is quoted as admitting that I did a fine job for the school.

Asked on 12/10/07, 5:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Discrimination by a Calif. Community College

All of your story is probably irrelevant, as the one year max statute of limitations is likely long passed.

Read more
Answered on 12/10/07, 6:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now