California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
1/27/07, 5:13 am

Legal Question


Pre-employment medical exam

I recently received a conditional offer of employment from a local Sheriff Office for a 911 Dispatcher position. I am scheduled to complete a medical examination as one of the conditions for employment. Although, I do not know what the medical exam entails.

My concern is that I had a PDA (Patent Ductus Arteriosus) Transection Surgery performed in 1988. I was 14 years old at the time, and I am now 32. I have never had any heart or heart related problems after the surgery.

Am I obligated to disclose this information/surgery during my medical exam?

Presently, I do not have any existing health issues.

Thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search