It is often a hot subject of debate in lawsuits, as to what is a protected disability under the ADA or the more employee friendly, California Fair Employment and Housing Act. The FEHA defines a physical disability, in Government Code, section 12926(k) as:
"(k) "Physical disability" includes, but is not limited to, all of
the following:
(1) Having any physiological disease, disorder, condition,
cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical loss that does both of the
following:
(A) Affects one or more of the following body systems:
neurological, immunological, musculoskeletal, special sense organs,
respiratory, including speech organs, cardiovascular, reproductive,
digestive, genitourinary, hemic and lymphatic, skin, and endocrine.
(B) Limits a major life activity. For purposes of this section:
(i) "Limits" shall be determined without regard to mitigating
measures such as medications, assistive devices, prosthetics, or
reasonable accommodations, unless the mitigating measure itself
limits a major life activity.
(ii) A physiological disease, disorder, condition, cosmetic
disfigurement, or anatomical loss limits a major life activity if it
makes the achievement of the major life activity difficult.
(iii) "Major life activities" shall be broadly construed and
includes physical, mental, and social activities and working."
Furthermore, the FMLA and the CFRA requires employers of 50 or more employees to allow qualified employees who suffer a serious illness, to take up to 12 weeks off.
While I cannot address your situation, specifically, it would be a good idea for you to consult with an experienced employment law attorney in your area, to review your case and explore your legal options.