California  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
4/07/09, 1:37 am

Legal Question


Drug Charges

I was given a ticket for 11357(B)HS -

Possession of Marijuana. The

situation is a bit strange though. The

officers originally saw my friend

drinking a beer in her parked car

which i was standing near. Therefore

the initial probable cause that the

officer had to search the car, and my

friend and I was for possession of

alcohol (we are both under 21 also).

Now in the end they found both mine

and my friends marijuana in the car.

I claimed mine and she claimed hers.

The officers said they were ''giving us

a break'' by dumping our beer and

only citing us for the pot. Now I have

a court date and something occurred

to me. If the original probable cause

for us being searched was for alcohol,

but we did not get cited for alcohol,

only for marijuana, then can this

case even hold up in court if I

pleaded not guilty?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search